In this article, you can find information on registering the MakeMusic notation product you just purchased, how to authorize that product, some information on common errors during authorization, and how to deauthorize Finale. The authorization and deauthorization sections as detail a couple of different methods for completing these processes and what to do when things aren't quite going as planned.

Contents of this article

 

Registering your notation product

If you have purchased Finale on from a dealer, purchased new from a reseller, or you do not see your serial number on your account, you may need to register the product. This involves logging into your MakeMusic account and filling out some prompts. Information you will need includes which product you are trying to register and your serial number (serial numbers begin with four letters and then have eight alphanumeric characters after a dash; i.e. HFER-########).

Register Now

 

 

Authorization

Authorizing your notation program

When you install a Finale notation program, you must authorize by entering your serial number into the Authorization Wizard. After 30 days, if you do not authorize your product, your program will stop saving or printing; however, you can still authorize anytime after 30 days.

 

To authorize your copy of Finale, Allegro, PrintMusic, or SongWriter, follow these steps:

  1. Open the application. Windows users: Right-click the desktop icon for the program and select Run as administrator.
  2. If prompted to authorize, click Authorize Now. Otherwise, choose Help > Authorize Finale.
  3. Enter your name and serial number and click Next. What's a serial number?
  4. If you have an internet connection, follow the onscreen prompts to automatically authorize your software.

If you happen to run into any errors along the way, please see Resolving common authorization errors.

 

Authorizing Finale offline, or when an internet connection is not recognized

If you do not have an Internet connection, or Finale is not recognizing your internet connection, you will see this message:

Authorization1.png

If you see this message, click Continue and then continue with the steps below to authorize your software manually.

  1. After choosing Continue, choose the "Website..." option. Note: Previous versions of Finale software may say Website or telephone for the first option. Finale technical support is now exclusively online.
  2. Open our online registration page.
  3. Gather your user code from the computer on which you are trying to authorize Finale. What's a user code?
  4. Back on the registration web page, choose the applicable options from the Ownership, Product, and Version fields; type your serial number into the final field and click Next.
  5. Type in what you would like to name the computer you are authorizing in the Location field.
  6. Type the user code you gathered into the User Code field.
  7. Choose an option from the Platform & OS field; click Next.
  8. A 10-digit authorization code appears on the next page. Type that code into the Authorization Code field in Finale to complete the process.

If you run into any issues, please feel free to contact Customer Success for further assistance.

 

 

Resolving common authorization errors

In some cases, an error messages appear during of the authorization process. Below are some common authorization errors that occur. Select an error message below for possible solutions.

 

"Error Message for Authorization Server: Your maximum number of authorizations allowed for this license are currently in use..."


If the same version Finale has been authorized on another operating system(s), you must deauthorize it first before you can authorize it on a new operating system. To deauthorize Finale from an old computer:

  1. Open Finale on the old computer.Windows users: Right-click the desktop icon for the program and select Run as administrator.
  2. Choose Help > Deauthorize Finale. Click Yes to confirm.

Has the old operating system crashed or been replaced/replaced? See Managing your authorizations without access to Finale.

How many authorizations are allowed at one time?

 

"Error Message from Authorization Server: Unable to locate serial number on file."

This error is usually either a typo in the serial number or because the wrong product or version is open when trying to authorize (for example, using a PrintMusic 2014 serial number in Finale 2014.5).

  1. Close Authorization Wizard and verify the product name and version of your software from the top menu:
    Mac: Choose the [Product name] menu > About [Product name]
    Windows: Choose the  Help menu > About [Product name]
    If you installed the incorrect product or version, you can download the correct product from your MakeMusic account.
  2. If you have the correct product and version installed, choose HelpAuthorize Finale to reopen the Authorization Wizard.
  3. Manually retype your serial number without using copy & paste and attempt to authorize again.

 

"Error Message from Authorization Server: Unable to log incoming data. String or binary data would be truncated."

This error is usually caused by too many characters or spaces entered in the serial number. To fix this you'll want to back up to first step of Authorization wizard and manually retype the serial number without using copy & paste. What's a serial number?

 

 

Deauthorizing your notation product

Deauthorizing Finale on a computer frees up a seat making it available for use on another computer. It is important to deauthorize Finale before upgrading your operating system, reformatting your computer, replacing your computer, or moving Finale to a new computer. There are a few different circumstances under which you could be deauthorizing Finale, please choose the option below that applies to you.

 

Deauthorizing with the application

If you have an internet connection, you can deauthorize Finale form within the application.

  1. Open Finale. On Windows, please be sure to open the application by right-clicking the desktop icon or start menu icon (not the taskbar) and choosing Run as administrator.
  2. Choose Help > Deauthorize Finale.

If the deauthorization was successful you will see a dialog box saying so. If the program does not deauthorize, or you get a message saying that the deauthorization process failed, please see Deauthorization Failed.

 

 

Managing your authorizations without access to Finale

There are many reasons why you may want to manage your current authorizations without access to Finale. You may have experienced a computer failure, replaced a computer without deauthorizing, or maybe you don't have access to the internet on your computer and you have to use another computer to manage your authorizations. Fortunately, you can view and remove authorizations for each of your serial numbers from your MakeMusic account.

 

After you've logged in, you can click the green Manage Authorizations button in a product section (indicated below) to view your current authorizations.

 

ManageAuths2.png

 

Before removing an authorization from your account, please uninstall Finale first from the computer you are deauthorizing if you still have access to it. If you do not have access to Finale on that computer, or you have uninstalled the program, you can remove an authorization from your account by clicking the DELETE link for that authorization (depicted below).

 

ManageAuthsDelete.png

 

You will be prompted for a reason for the deauthorization. Please choose the reason that most closely applies to your situation, or choose other and type a few words describing your situation.

 

2017-05-19_11-26-59.png

 

 

Deauthorization failed

If your deauthorization failed, you can view and remove an authorization from your MakeMusic account online. Before removing an authorization from your MakeMusic account, please uninstall Finale first.

 

After you've uninstalled Finale and logged in to your MakeMusic account, you can click the green Manage Authorizations button in a product section (indicated below) to view your current authorizations.

 

ManageAuths2.png

 

You can remove an authorization from your account by clicking the DELETE link for that authorization (depicted below).

 

ManageAuthsDelete.png

 

You will be prompted for a reason for the deauthorization. Please choose the reason that most closely applies to your situation, or choose other and type a few words describing your situation.

 

2017-05-19_11-26-59.png